A Blog About Sausage?

I have to tell you that I never thought I would be writing about sausage. I know guys love it, so maybe I’ll have more manly men reading my post this week :0). My mother might say that it’s vulgar, but I just have to tell you about my new fascination with FRESH sausage (I know that sounds funny, keep adult commentary to yourselves).

Back to the kitchen…it’s easy to get very bored when you’re first learning how to cook, so I’m always looking to iStock_000002395168XSmalltry new things – something other than chicken breast, you know? Last month, I was cruising the meats section of my supermarket and noticed some fresh Italian sausage on sale, next to fresh andouille and fresh chorizo. I grabbed a couple packs and headed home to experiment. After an easy 12-minute boil for the Italian sausage, I threw it into Deborah Dal Fovo’s spaghetti al pomodoro recipe. The next night, we made German-Style grilled sausage and mashed potatoes! SO DELICIOUS! The andouille was used in an awesome egg scramble for brunch and the chorizo, home-style burritos. Now, we make a sausage meal about once a week. Really easy, since the sausages come wonderfully seasoned and it’s great to buy them fresh (less preservatives and all that stuff)!

Here’s a favorite savory sausage recipe variation from a Kiwi cookbook I bought while traveling in New Zealand a few years ago:

Ingredients

  • 6 pork sausages
  • 1 large onion
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 ounce malt vinegar (30 ml)
  • 1 cooking apple
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 ounce Worcester sauce (15 ml)
  • 5 ounces water (150 ml)

Coarsely chop apple, onion and place in casserole dish. Mix in other ingredients and submerge sausage in the mixture. Cover and slow cook at 250 degrees F for 2 hours. Serve with creamy mashed potatoes and green beans or peas.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

