What in the name of Buddha is that?!

IMG_0404“What is that?!” That was the first thing that popped into my head while shopping at the best little market ever, Bi-Rite. I was almost embarrassed at my double-take as I passed the fresh produce aisle. So, I made pretend that I forgot something and went around for a second look. If I had to guess, I would say it was a type of squash. Wrong. It’s a fruit!

Citron Buddha’s Hand, “great for zest, candied, beautiful centerpiece,” read the hand-written sign. Fascinated by its strange appearance, I picked it up and smelled it, of course. A beautifully fragrant lemon scent popped from the strange-looking fruit. It’s in season now. It would make a great gift for a fellow foodie – all wrapped up in a little box.

Here’s a great website that lists strange and special produce along with great ideas for recipes: http://www.specialtyproduce.com/

Discover a weird piece of produce today!

1 Comment

Filed under tips for new cooks

One response to “What in the name of Buddha is that?!

  1. I came here from google. After reading Excellent ideas om your Blog. I bookmark it.

Leave a Reply

