Love & Potatoes: My New CSA

I picked up my bag of veggies from my new CSA (Canvas Ranch) this week and it was so exciting. I had no idea what I was getting and not sure what I was going to do with it, so it felt like an adventure. I walked to pick up my bag of goodies with my little boy, Craig, and started thinking about how FRESH food is so romanticized these days. It was an interesting string of thoughts. There I was, walking with my 10-month old sleeping quietly in his super stroller as I passed all the pretty trees and looked into the hills of Marin County all while I was supporting a local farm. All I needed was a little music and it would be a great scene in a movie, I bet.

The romance side tracks me…anyway, I arrived to grab my veggies and on queue, the baby starts screaming, the wind blew cold and there I was with no jacket and 2 miles from home.

Finally, we get home and I spread out the goods on my kitchen table. The excitement came back! I didn’t know what everything was but it looked so pretty and fresh and colorful. I picked up something that looked like parsley and smelled and picked off a leaf. “It doesn’t smell like parsley,” I thought. It tasted so different – like a candied orange…how strange! Canvas Ranch solved the mystery with their weekly newsletter explaining everything: Lettuce, Rainbow Chard, Golden and Chiogga Beets, Collards, Radicchio, Yukon Gold Potatoes, Scallions and Cilantro!

It was cilantro! I’ve had cilantro before, but not like this. It was so different and extra delicious. Oh, and the potatoes! I sliced them like steak fries and baked them with olive oil and a little Old Bay seasoning…so good that I didn’t use ketchup – and I’m a ketchup fanatic.

I can’t wait to cook and eat these up during the week. Do you have any favorite CSAs (community-supported agriculture) that you love. And please, tell me about any fruits or veggies that have surprised you lately.

Off to a canning & jamming class…

1 Comment

Filed under cooking 101, starting to cook, tips for new cooks

One response to “Love & Potatoes: My New CSA

Leave a Reply

